Basics for Compliance with Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Requirements


MOC is a four-part process of lifelong learning and improvement that includes:

  1. Licensure and Professional Standing, which means holding a valid, unrestricted and unchallenged medical license in the United States, its territories, or Canada.
  2. Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment, to include participation in educational and self-assessment programs;
  3. Cognitive Expertise, as demonstrated through formal examinations; and
  4. Practice Performance Assessment, whereby physicians assess the quality of care they provide, compare to national guidelines, benchmarks and peers, apply the new recommendations to their care, and conduct follow-up assessments to gauge improvement of patient care.


  • Enroll in MOC by April 30, 2014 to be reported as “Meeting MOC Requirements.” You may enroll after this time, but you will be reported as “Certified, Not Meeting MOC Requirements” until you enroll.
  • Complete at least one MOC activity every two years. You may choose any activity to meet the two year requirement.
  • Complete 100 points every five years, to include:
    • 20 points in practice assessment
    • 20 points in medical knowledge
    • A patient survey activity
    • A patient safety activity
    • Pass a secure MOC exam every 10 years in each certification area you choose to maintain.


  • April 30, 2014:
    • Enroll in MOC
  • December 31, 2015:
    • Completion of at least one MOC activity to meet two-year requirement
  • December 31, 2017:
    • Completion of at least one MOC activity to meet two-year requirement
  • December 31, 2018:
    • Earn a total of 100 MOC points and complete the patient survey/safety requirements.

For information on your personal status, you can log in to Physician Login on contact ABIM via email