Excellence in Teaching in Pediatrics Award

Peter Frommelt, MD, FASE
2023 Awardee

(This award is rotated with the Founders’ Award for Lifetime Achievement in Echocardiography for Pediatric and Congenital Heart Disease and is presented every other year.)

Established in 2005, this biennial award is open to either a sonographer or physician member for their exceptional commitment and skill in teaching pediatric echocardiography, who has been a mentor to students and serves as a role model for the profession, and who fosters a sense of clinical excellence and research investigation in the individuals they teach. There is no age limit for this award. The Excellence in Teaching in Pediatrics Award is presented during ASE’s Annual Scientific Sessions.  Nominee must be a Fellow of the American Society of Echocardiography (FASE). Click here for eligibility requirements.

Excellence in Teaching in Pediatrics Award Recipients

  • 2023: Peter Frommelt, MD, FASE
  • 2020: Girish S. Shirali, MBBS, FASE
  • 2018: Meryl S. Cohen, MD, FASE
  • 2016: Lloyd Y. Tani, MD, FASE
  • 2014: Tal Geva, MD, FASE
  • 2012: Mary Etta King, MD, FASE
  • 2010: Nancy A. Ayres, MD, FASE
  • 2008: Norman H. Silverman, MD, FASE
  • 2006: Ira A. Parness, MD