Governance and Compliance Committee


  • Review and make recommendations relating to Board and Council Structures and governance issues.
  • Review conflict of interest statements from committee and task force members.
  • Oversee society practices to ensure that ethical practices are followed.
  • Insure adherence to society bylaws.
  • Review all bylaws change requests and make recommendations to the board.
  • Review cases related to members’ improper behavior or alleged noncompliance with the society’s stated policies and procedures.
  • Review internal conflict of interest issues as needed.
  • Review governance structure, roles and number of Board members to better serve the Society.
  • Make recommendations on topics, speakers, and authors for ethics-related sessions/lectures at ASE meetings or ethics-related manuscripts/editorials/press releases
  • Provide oversight of volunteer groups to ensure diversity and inclusion

2023 – 2024 Committee Members:
Neil Weissman, MD, FASE – Chair
Sharon McCartney, MD, FASE – Co-Chair

Ritu Thamman, MD, FASE – D&I Representative
Paul Mayo, MD, FASE – Critical Care Council Steering Committee Chair
Matthew Pierce, MD – Critical Care Representative
Muhamed Saric, MD, PhD, FASE – Interventional Echocardiography Council Steering Committee Chair
Patrick Gleason, MD, FASE – Interventional Echo Representative
Craig Fleishman, MD, FASE – Pediatric Council Steering Committee Chair
Allyson Doucet, BS, RDCS (AE, PE), FASE – Pediatric Representative
Sheela Pai Cole, MD, FASE, FASA – Perioperative Council Steering Committee Chair
Elvera Baron, MD, PhD, FASA FASE – Perioperative Representative
G. Monet Strachan, ACS, RDCS, FASE – Sonography Council Steering Committee Past Chair
Kristen Billick, BS, ACS, RCS, RDCS (AE, PE) FASE – Sonographer Representative
Fadi Shamoun, MD, FASE – Vascular Council Steering Committee Chair
Nupoor Narula, MD – Vascular Representative
Roosha Parikh, MD, FASE – Rising Star Representative
Miguel Quinones, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Maureen McDonald, DHSc, MBA, RDMS, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Poonam Thankavel, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Michael Main, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Marielle Scherrer-Crosbie, MD, PhD, FASE – Member at Large
Matt Umland, ACS, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Carol Mitchell, PhD, RDMS, RDCS, RVT, RT(R), ACS, FASE – Member at Large
Allan Klein, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Bryan Wells, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Philippe Pibarot, DVM, PhD, FASE – Member at Large
Peter Frommelt, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Meryl Cohen, MD, MSEd, FASE, FACC, FAHA – Member at Large
Tiffany Chen, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Suzanne Morris – Staff Liaison
Robin Wiegerink, MNPL – Staff Liaison