Richard Popp Excellence in Teaching Award

Nominations are now CLOSED.

The Richard Popp Excellence in Teaching Award was named in honor of Richard Popp, MD, and recognizes a physician who epitomizes the ideal qualities of a mentor and role model. This award recognizes an outstanding teacher nominated by their students and peers. ASE created the award to focus our attention on the important role teaching and mentorship play in influencing and improving the echocardiographers of the future. Click here for award criteria.

Richard Popp Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients

  • 2022: Gregory J. Ensing, MD, FASE
  • 2020: Partho P. Sengupta, MBBS,  MD, DM, FASE
  • 2019:  Steven J. Lester, MD, FASE
  • 2018: Theodore P. Abraham, MD, FASE
  • 2017: Muhamed Saric, MD, PhD, FASE
  • 2016: Sunil V. Mankad, MD, FASE
  • 2015: Marielle Scherrer-Crosbie, MD, PhD, FASE
  • 2014: Mikel D. Smith, MD, FASE
  • 2013: Julio E. Perez, MD, FASE
  • 2012: Gerard P. Aurigemma, MD, FASE
  • 2011: Jonathan R. Lindner, MD, FASE
  • 2010: Vincent L. Sorrell, MD, FASE
  • 2009: Rebecca T. Hahn, MD, FASE
  • 2008: Roberto M. Lang, MD, FASE
  • 2007: Susan E. Wiegers, MD, FASE
  • 2006: John Gorcsan, III, MD, FASE
  • 2005: Michael H. Picard, MD, FASE and James D. Thomas, MD, FASE
  • 2004: William A. Zoghbi, MD, FACC, FASE, FAHA
  • 2003: Linda D. Gillam, MD, FASE
  • 2002: Robert A. Levine, MD
  • 2001: Sanjiv Kaul, MD, FASE