Circulation & Vascular Ultrasound Council

2022-2023 Circulation & Vascular Ultrasound Council Steering Committee:

Chair: Fadi Shamoun, MD, FASE (July 2022 – June 2024)
Chair-Elect: Edward Gill, MD, FASE (July 2022 – June 2024)
Immediate Past Chair: Bryan Wells, MD, FASE (July 2022 – June 2024)
ASE Council Representative: Keith Collins, MS, RDCS, FASE (July 2022 – June 2024)
Education Committee Rep: Vijay Nambi, MD, FASE (June 2019 – June 2023)
Guidelines & Standards Committee Rep: Allison Hays, MD, FASE (July 2022 – June 2024)
Scientific Sessions Track Chair: Matthew Vorsanger, MD, FACC, RPVI, FASE (July 2022 – June 2023)
Scientific Sessions Track Co-Chair: Rebecca LeLeiko, MD (July 2022 – June 2023)
Member at Large: Aaron Aday, MD, MSc, RPVI FASE (July 2021 – June 2023)
Member at Large: Stanislav Henkin, MD, MPH (July 2021 – June 2023)
Member at Large: Daniella Kadian-Dodov, MD, FACC, FAHA, FSVM, RPVI (July 2021 – June 2023)
Staff Liaison:  Dallas Lyons III

Council Objectives include:

  • Support circulation and vascular ultrasound interest areas by communicating issues of importance to the membership;
  • Provide guidance to the ASE Board of Directors regarding circulation and vascular ultrasound;
  • Provide a forum for members with similar interests to network;
  • Provide a representative (council chairman) to ASE Board of Directors;
  • To provide educational offerings for those practicing cardiovascular ultrasound for circulation and vascular patients, including guidance to Scientific Sessions Program Committee
  • To provide guidance on standards of care related to circulation and vascular ultrasound to the Board and Guidelines and Standards Committee


The Council has the following annual award:

Circulation & Vascular Ultrasound Council (CAVUS) Luminary Award

The inaugural CAVUS Luminary Award was awarded to Esther (Soo Hyun) Kim, MD, MPH, RPVI, FASE of Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN.

Scientific Sessions Travel Grant Award

In partnership with the ASE CAVUS Council, the ASE Education and Research Foundation will sponsor two perioperative trainees to attend the ASE Annual Scientific Sessions.

2023 Scientific Sessions Travel Grants Application will open Spring 2023