ASE Appoints 2024-2025 President


Contact: Angie Porter

American Society of Echocardiography Appoints 2024-2025 President

(DURHAM, NC, July 1, 2024)—The American Society of Echocardiography (ASE) is pleased to announce the appointment of Theodore Abraham, MD, FASE, as the organization’s new President, effective July 1, 2024.

2024-2025 ASE President Theodore Abraham, MD, FASE

During the 35th Annual Scientific Sessions in Portland, Ore., June 14-16, Dr. Abraham shared his vision as the 2024-2025 ASE President. He will lead the global cardiovascular ultrasound imaging society during its milestone 50th anniversary in 2025, and he said that while it is important to celebrate the last 50 years, it is the future 50 years that will be top of mind during his Presidency.

Dr. Abraham plans to focus on three initiatives that he sums up as (1) ASE Creates, (2) ASE Secures, and (3) ASE Partners. ASE Creates is intended to awaken creativity within the Society and determine potential opportunities for innovation and invention in the field. ASE Secures will safeguard the Society’s future by identifying new technologies and education, and ASE Partners will concentrate on collaboration and help ASE continue building relationships with complementary partners, disciplines and organizations.

“ASE has been my professional home for more than 20 years. In my term as President, I am looking forward to embracing the Society’s rich 50-year history while also ensuring we remain at the forefront of innovation and excellence,” said Dr. Abraham. “It is an honor to represent our members and have a role in advancing and growing both ASE and the field of cardiovascular ultrasound to meet the needs of patients.”

Since first joining ASE in 2003, Dr. Abraham has held numerous leadership and volunteer positions on committees, task forces, writing groups and editorial boards. Some of his involvements and achievements include serving as Chair of ASE’s Membership Committee, earning Fellowship status in 2004, delivering the 2016 Feigenbaum Lecture at the 27th Annual ASE Scientific Sessions, receiving the 2018 Richard Popp Excellence in Teaching Award and supporting the ASE Foundation. Most recently, he chaired two ASE Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM) forums in 2023 and 2024, and completed his term as the 2023-2024 President-Elect on the ASE Board of Directors’ Executive Committee.

Dr. Abraham earned his medical degree from Goa Medical College at the University of Bombay. He completed an internal medicine residency and an echocardiography research fellowship at Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, N.C. Dr. Abraham then completed fellowships in clinical cardiology and echocardiography at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, Texas, and advanced echocardiography and muscle physiology at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn. After previous appointments at Mayo Clinic and Johns Hopkins University, he is currently a cardiologist and Meyer Friedman Distinguished Professor at the University of California San Francisco, where he also serves as the institution’s Adult Cardiac Echocardiography Laboratory Director and HCM Center of Excellence Co-director.

ASE membership also elected 11 new Board of Director members to serve the Society starting July 1, 2024. The ASE Executive Committee welcomes Vice President Cynthia Taub, MD, MBA, FASE, SUNY Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, N.Y., who will serve a one-year term. The new Treasurer serving a three-year term will be Akhil Narang, MD, FASE, Northwestern Medicine, Chicago, Ill. Secretary Melissa Wasserman, RDCS, RCCS, FASE, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pa., and Council Representative Kelly Thorson, DHSc, MSRS, ACS, RDCS, RCCS, CIIP, FASE, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford, Palo Alto, Calif., will each serve two-year terms.

The following new Board members were elected to serve two-year terms: Kristen Billick, BS, ACS, RCS, RDCS (AE, PE) FASE, Scripps Clinic and La Jolla Hospital, La Jolla, Calif. (Member at Large); Allyson Boyle, MHA, ACS, RDCS, FASE, Sanger Heart and Vascular Institute – Atrium Health, Charlotte, N.C. (Cardiovascular Sonography Council Chair); Tony Forshaw, M Cardiac Ultrasound, B Ex Sci, AMS (Cardiac), FASE, Queensland University of Technology Queensland, Australia (International Representative); Jennifer Liu, MD, FASE, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, N.Y. (Member at Large); Kameswari Maganti, MD, FASE, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, N.J. (Member at Large); Nishath Quader, MD, FASE, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, Mo. (Interventional Echocardiography Council Chair); and Matthew Vorsanger, MD, FACC, RPVI, FASE, NYU Grossman School of Medicine, New York, N.Y. (Circulation & Vascular Ultrasound Council Chair).

Founded in 1975, ASE currently has nearly 17,000 members across 112 countries. Learn more by visiting,

About American Society of Echocardiography
The American Society of Echocardiography (ASE) is the Society for Cardiovascular Ultrasound Professionals™. ASE is the largest global organization for cardiovascular ultrasound imaging serving physicians, sonographers, nurses, veterinarians, and scientists and as such is the leader and advocate, setting practice standards and guidelines for the field. The Society is committed to advancing cardiovascular ultrasound to improve lives. For more information visit ASE’s website or social media pages on Facebook, X (formerly Twitter), LinkedIn, or Instagram.


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap