Board of Directors

ASE is now accepting nominations.  For more information click here.

June 2021- June 2022 Board of Directors


President (term expires June 2022)
Raymond Stainback, MD, FASE
Texas Heart Institute, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center
Houston, TX

President-Elect (term expires June 2022)
Stephen Little, MD, FASE
Houston Methodist
Houston, TX

Vice President (term expires June 2022)
Benjamin Eidem, MD, FASE
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

Treasurer (term expires June 2024)
Cynthia Taub, MD, FASE
Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center
Bronx, NY

Secretary (term expires June 2022)
Matt  M. Umland, ACS, RDCS, FASE
Aurora Health Care
Milwaukee, WI

Council Representative (term expires June 2022)
Meryl Cohen, MD, FASE
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

Immediate Past President (term expires June 2022)
Judy W. Hung, MD, FASE
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Chief Executive Officer
Robin Wiegerink, MNPL
American Society of Echocardiography
Durham, NC


Council on Cardiovascular Sonography Chair (term expires June 2022)
Keith Collins, MS, RDCS, FASE 

Northwestern Medicine
Chicago, IL

Council on Circulation & Vascular Ultrasound (term expires June 2022)
Bryan Wells, MD, FASE
Emory Healthcare
Atlanta, GA

Council on Pediatric & Congenital Heart Disease Chair (term expires June 2023)
Carolyn Altman, MD, FASE
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Council on Perioperative Echocardiography Chair (term expires June 2023)
G. Burkhard Mackensen, MD, PhD, FASE
University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Past President Member (term expires June 2023)
Thomas Ryan, MD, FASE
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

Member at Large (term expires June 2022)
Vincent Sorrell, MD, FASE
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY

Member at Large (term expires June 2022)
Ritu Thamman, MD, FASE
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA

Member at Large(term expires June 2022)
Danita Sanborn, MD, FASE
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Member at Large (term expires June 2023)
Vandana Sachdev, MD, FASE 
National Institute of Health
Bethesda, MD

Member at Large (term expires June 2023)
Anthony Gallagher, MHA, FASE
Wellstar Kennestone Hospital
Marietta, GA

Member at Large (term expires June 2023)
Leo Lopez, MD, FASE 
Stanford Children’s Hospital
Palo Alto, CA

Member at Large (term expires June 2023)
Susan Mayer, MD, FASE 
Saint Luke’s Mid America Heart Institute
Prairie Village, KS

International Member (term expires June 2023)
Kian-Keong (KK) Poh, MBBChir, FASE
National University Heart Centre

Leadership Academy Representative(term expires June 2022)
Jordan Strom, MD, MSc, FASE
Beth Israel Deaconess
Boston, MA