Council on Cardiovascular Sonography

The ASE Council on Cardiovascular Sonography is dedicated to the following objectives:

  • Support cardiovascular ultrasound interest areas by communicating issues of importance to the membership;
  • Provide guidance to the ASE Board of Directors regarding sonographer issues;
  • Provide a forum for members with similar interests to network;
  • Appoint directors to the ASE Board of Directors (as council representatives)
  • To provide educational offerings for sonographers, including guidance to Scientific Sessions Program Committee

Sonography Council Steering Committee Activities

  • Monthly article in JASE
  • Provide guidance to the ASE Guidelines and Standards Committee relating to Guideline documents and white papers
  • Targeted track at ASE Scientific Sessions
  • Advocacy efforts related to issues affecting cardiovascular sonographers
  • Sonography Community on  Connect@ASE
    • Monthly message from chair
    • Resource library
    • Allows members to discuss issues and network
    • Forum for news and announcements about ASE and cardiovascular sonography

Priscilla J. Peters, BA, RDCS, FASE was named ASE’s Cardiovascular Sonographer Distinguished Teacher Award recipient.


Criteria for applying for ASE awards for sonographers can be found here.

  • ASE Cardiovascular Sonographer Distinguished Teacher Award:
    2016: Maryellen Orsinelli, RN, RDCS, FASE
    2018: Priscilla J. Peters, BA, RDCS, FASE
  • Sonographer Lifetime Achievement Award: (this award is rotated with the Cardiac Sonographer Distinguished Teacher Award and will be presented every other year.)
    2015: Peg Knoll, RDCS, FASE
    2017:  Margaret “Koko” Park, BS, ACS, RDCS, RVT, FASE

Participating in the Council on Cardiovascular Sonography:

Membership in ASE’s councils is a complimentary member benefit. You can join one or more subspecialty councils of interest to you by checking the relevant boxes on your membership application or by selecting them in your online membership profile.

Most of the information about council activities, announcements, discussion boards and volunteer opportunities are available in the council’s community on Connect@ASE, ASE’s online networking site.   This site is an ASE member benefit, and allows council members the opportunity to network, discuss issues, be aware of deadlines for travel grants and volunteer opportunities, and be in the know about council initiatives, concerns and news. Members can opt for daily or weekly digests of news related to the council communities in which they chose to participate. Simply opt to join the communities of interest to you by clicking on the “communities” tab on your Connect@ASE homepage.

Sonographer resources on ASE offers information on sonographer education and training and FAQs on the following webpage:

Industry Standards for the Prevention of Work Related Musculoskeletal Disorders in SOnography

Council on Cardiovascular Sonography Steering Committee:

Chair:   Elaine Shea, RCS, RCCS, FASE.

Chair-Elect:   Keith Collins, MS, RDCS, FASE

Immediate Past Chair: Carol Mitchell, PhD, RDMS, RDCS, RVT, RT(R), ACS, FASE

Council Representative on ASE Executive Board:  Wyman Lai, MD, FASE

Education Committee Representative:  Amy Dillenbeck, MS, ACS, RDCS, FASE

Guidelines & Standards Committee Representative:  Alicia Armour, BS, MA, RDCS, FASE

Scientific Sessions Sonographer Track Chair:  Sue Phillip, RCS, FASE

Scientific Sessions Sonographer Representative: Keith Collins, MS, RDCS, FASE

Members at Large: Kristen Billick, BS, ACS, RDCS (AE, PE), FASE; Eric Kruse, BS, ACS, RDCS, RVT, FASE and Neha Soni-Patel, BS, RDCS, FASE