American Society of Echocardiography Announces Eleven New Board Members

The American Society of Echocardiography (ASE) is pleased to announce that the ASE membership has elected eleven new board members to serve the Society beginning July 1, 2021. New officers on the ASE Executive Committee will be: Vice-President (one-year term) Benjamin Eidem, MD, FASE, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine Rochester, MN, USA; Treasurer (three-year term) Cynthia Taub, MD, MBA, FASE, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center Lebanon, New Hampshire; and Secretary (extended one-year term) Matt Umland, ACS, RDCS, FASE, Aurora Health Care, Milwaukee, WI.

In addition to the new officers, the following new Board of Directors members were elected to serve two-year terms: Carolyn Altman, MD, FASE, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX (Pediatric Council Steering Committee Chair); Anthony Gallagher, RDCS (AE, PE), FASE, MBA, Wellstar Kennestone Hospital Marietta, GA; Leo Lopez, MD, FASE, Stanford University School of Medicine, Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital Stanford, Palo Alto, CA; G. Burkhard Mackensen, MD, PhD, FASE, University of Washington, Seattle, WA (Perioperative Council Steering Committee Chair); Susan Mayer, MD, FASE, Saint Luke’s Mid America Heart and Vascular Institute, Kansas City, MO; Kian Keong Poh, MBBChir, FASE, National University Heart Centre, Singapore (International representative); and Thomas Ryan, MD, FASE, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH (Past President representative). Jordan Strom, MD, MSc, FASE, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, was elected to a one-year term as the inaugural ASE Leadership Academy member elected to serve on the ASE Board of Directors. Vandana Sachdev, MD, FASE, National Institute of Health, Bethesda, MD, was appointed for an additional two-year service for her exceptional service in her previous term.

Previously elected members of the 2021-2022 ASE Executive Committee will be: President Raymond Stainback, MD, FASE, Texas Heart Institute, Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center, Houston, TX; President-Elect, Stephen H. Little, MD, FASE, Houston Methodist DeBakey Heart & Vascular Center, Houston, TX; Council Representative, Meryl Cohen, MD, FASE, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA; and Immediate Past President Judy W. Hung, MD, FASE, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA.

Board members continuing with their final year of service include Keith A. Collins, MS, RDCS, FASE, Northwestern Medicine, Chicago, IL (Council on Cardiovascular Sonography Representative); Danita Sanborn, MD, MMSc, FASE, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA; Vincent Sorrell, MD, FASE, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY; Ritu Thamman, MD, FASE, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, Pittsburgh, PA; and Bryan Wells, MD, FASE, Emory Healthcare, Atlanta, GA (Council on Circulation & Vascular Ultrasound Representative.

Board members who will complete their service on June 30, 2021, include Piers Barker, MD, FASE, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC (Pediatric Council Steering Committee Chair); Carol Mitchell, PhD, RDMS, RDCS, RVT, RT(R), ACS, FASE, University of Wisconsin Hospital, Madison, WI (Treasurer); Alina Nicoara, MD, FASE, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC (Perioperative Council Steering Committee Chair); Alan S. Pearlman, MD, FASE, Seattle, WA (Past President representative); Peter Rahko, MD, FASE, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI; Geoffrey Rose, MD, FASE, Sanger Heart & Vascular Center, Charlotte, NC; Jennifer Schaaf, BS, ACS, RDCS, FASE, The Christ Hospital Health Network, Cincinnati, OH; Madhav Swaminathan, MD, FASE, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC (Immediate Past President); and Cathy West, MSc, DMU (CARDIAC), AMS, EACVI CHD, FASE, Royal Brompton Hospital, London, UK (International representative).

This announcement underscores the organization’s commitment to reflecting the talent and diversity of the cardiovascular field. With the new members represent major sub-specialties in the field including circulation, pediatrics, anesthesiology, sonography, and interventional echocardiography.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap