Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Center

As described by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), MOC is a four-part process of lifelong learning and competency in a specialty/subspecialty that includes measurement against six core competencies: professionalism, patient care and procedural skills, medical knowledge, practice-based learning and improvement, interpersonal and communication skills, and systems-based practice. There are 24 medical specialties for board certified physicians, including internal medicine, anesthesiology, and pediatrics, that are part of the ABMS Member Boards and participate in the ABMS MOC® program.1

The resources below have been gathered by ASE to help provide you with details on MOC programs and provide you with resources to help meet these requirements.

ASE MOC Educational Initiatives
Let ASE help you earn points towards your MOC requirements. Now includes MOC for both ABIM & ABP!

Frequently Asked Questions on ABIM’s 2015 Program Changes
In 2015, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) implanted changes to its MOC program requirements in response to feedback received since their 2014 revised program launch

American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) – MOC Website
For more information on upcoming deadlines, to review your MOC status report, and see your specific program requirements

American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) –  MOC Website
For more information, MOC policies, FAQs, and enrollment information

Visit the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) – MOC Website
For more information on MOC, requirements, reporting, and more


 Additional Resources