Education Committee


  • Execute plans for educational initiatives as elucidated in the ASE’s strategic goals:
    • Assure implementation of LMS/Mobile app for all educational content.
    • Assure development of curriculum packages for CVUS.
    • Assure development of virtual conferencing for access to ASE content
    • Assure development of micro-learning modules.
    • Assure development of formal commercialization strategy of ASE’s educational content and products
  • Oversee the development and implementation of live courses.
    • Oversee the educational content for ASE live courses.
    • Review live course evaluations and make recommendations to the Course Chairs for improvements.
    • Review course financials and evaluations to provide recommendations to the Board of Directors and Treasurer on changes to existing courses especially regarding any impact to the finances.
    • Conduct review of Co-Director applications and make recommendations to the Executive committee.
  • Identify the critical content that will be the focus of all activity proposals, annually.
    • Identify content from membership, trend, market research, and council surveys.
  • Review and prioritize all activity proposals, annually.
    • Consider the feasibility and appropriateness of new educational activities.
  • Recommend new educational strategies and methods that will help establish ASE as the resource for cardiovascular ultrasound education.
  • Review applications for “co-sponsorship without CME” activities.

The Chair of the Education Committee may not have any paid relationships with industry or others during their term of service.

2023 – 2024 Committee Members:
Merri Bremer EdD, RN, ACS, RDCS, FASE – Chair
Leo Lopez MD, FASE – Co-Chair

Seth Koenig, MD – Critical Care Representative
Mary Beth Brady, MD, FASE – Interventional Echo Representative
Shubhika Srivastava, MD, FASE – Pediatric Representative
Qiong Zhao, MD, PhD, FASE – Perioperative Representative
Jennifer Acevedo, ACS, RDCS, FASE – Sonographer Representative
Stanislav Henkin, MD, MPH, FASE – Vascular Representative
Ahmed Sami Abuzaid, MD, FACP, RPVI, FESC, FACC, FASE – Rising Star Representative
Nina Rashedi, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Daniel Bourque, MS, ACS, RCS, FASE – Member at Large
Rebecca Klug, BA, ACS, RDCS, (AE, PE), RT(R), FASE – Member at Large
John Lockhart, BSRT, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Nadeen Faza, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Wendy Tsang, MD – Member at Large
Chadi Ayoub, MD, PhD, FASE – Member at Large
Jonathan Vafai, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Doaa Aly, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Fawaz Alenezi, MD, MSc, FASE – Member at Large
Raymond Musarra, MBA, ACS, RDCS, RCS, FASE – Member at Large
Nadine Choueiter, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Karl Richardson, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Christina Caruso-LaFuria – Staff Liaison