Guidelines and Standards Committee


  • Review and edit new documents for consistency and alignment with society’s standards and values.
  • Supervise and advise taskforces and councils and external organizations that are developing guideline documents or consensus statements (Chair).
  • Commission documents that affirm ASE’s position as the authoritative resource on cardiovascular ultrasound.
  • Review existing ASE guideline documents to assess update requirements.
  • Suggest ways to better disseminate guidelines to members, physicians, the public and private payers (specific task related to goal 2).
  • Routinely monitor guideline working group progress to ensure timely delivery of documents (Chair).
  • Identify areas in need of standardization as well as potential leaders to direct the development of guidelines documents or consensus statements.
  • Review documents led by other societies that seek endorsement by the ASE.

Members of the committee cannot serve as lead author on any ASE writing groups during their time of committee service.

2022 – 2023 Committee Members:
David Wiener, MD, FASE – Chair

David Orsinelli, MD, FASE – Co-Chair

Karima Addetia, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Basant Arya, MD, FACC, FASE – Member at Large
Piers Barker, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Himani Bhatt, MD, MPA, FASE – Perioperative Representative
Brittany Byrd, RDCS (AE,FE,PE), FASE – Member at Large
Bindu Chebrolu, MD, FACC, FASE – Member at Large
Jacqueline Danik, MD, DrPH, FASE – Member at Large
David Dudzinski, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Jared Feinman, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Allison Hays, MD, FASE – Vascular Representative
Lanqi Hua, ACS, APCA, RDCS (AE, PE, FE), MS, FASE – Member at Large
Jeff Jewell, BS, RDCS (PE, AE), FASE – Member at Large
Noreen Kelly, MD, MBA, FASE – Member at Large
Smadar Kort, MD, FASE – Critical Care Representative
Kan Liu, MD, FACC, FASE – Member at Large
Anuj Mediratta, MD, FASE, FACC – Member at Large
Matthew Parker, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Anitha Parthiban, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Alan Pearlman, MD, FASE – Ex-Officio
Andy Pellett, PhD, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Patricia Pellikka, MD, FASE – Ex-Officio
Vera Rigolin, MD, FASE – Interventional Echo Representative
Anita Sadeghpour, MD, FACC, FASE – Member at Large
Elif Seda Selamet Tierney, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Brian Soriano MD, FASE Pediatric Representative
Kenan Stern, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Melissa Wasserman, RDCS, RCCS, FASE – Sonographer Representative
Bo Xu, MD, FASE, FACC – Rising Star Representative
Lise Blandino, M.S. – Staff Liaison