PR Committee


  • Develop materials and talking points for patient-centered Hill Briefings
  • Select abstracts with appeal to the public and media for the Annual Scientific Sessions
  • Recommend and review press releases created from abstracts and current events related to imaging.
  • Assist with promotional activities including attracting media outlets and reporters to cover the Scientific Sessions and the Society.
  • Provide advice related to Societal responses to media and publications focusing on cardiovascular ultrasound topics
  • Develop new strategies for increasing awareness of the value of echocardiography, including working collaboratively with the Advocacy Committee
  • Promote engagement on social media channels, such as Twitter, for attracting users of cardiovascular ultrasound.
  • Oversee the Twitter Journal Club Subgroup’s work on promoting their monthly tweet-ups.

2022 – 2023 Committee Members:
Kristen Billick, BS, ACS, RDCS (AE, PE), FASE – Chair
Juan Lopez-Mattei, MD, FASE – Co-Chair
Rowa Attar – Member at Large
Sowmya Balasubramanian, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Kelly Boegel, ACS, RCCS, RCS, FASE – Member at Large
Vaibhav Bora, MBBS, FASE, FASA – Member at Large
Jennifer Borowski, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Sreekanth Cheruku, MD, MPH, FASE – Member at Large
Laura Egounis – Member at Large
Enrique Garcia-Sayan, MD, FASE, FACC – Twitter Journal Workgroup
Antonio Hernandez, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Elizabeth Herrera, MD, FASE – Member at Large
David Lewandowski, MD – Member at Large
Richard Palma, BS, RDCS, RCS, ACS, FSDMS, FASE – Member at Large
Thomas Van Houten, MPH, ACS, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Anna Woo MD, SM – Member at Large
Angie Porter – Staff Liaison

Twitter Journal Club Subgroup

1. Develop a recurring Journal Club hosted on Twitter
2. Moderate journal article topics centered around the ASE’s mission
3. Increase the ASE’s visibility on social media via Twitter
4. Attract younger ASE members to the Twitter journal club
5. Provide a platform for international cardiovascular ultrasound practitioners to interact with the ASE via Twitter

2022 – 2023 Subgroup Members:

Enrique Garcia-Sayan, MD, FASE, FACC – Chair
Kelly Boegel, ACS, RCCS, RCS, FASE
Kanwal Farooqi, MD
Nadeen Faza, MD, FASE
Rebecca Hahn, MD, FASE
Juan Lopez-Mattei, MD, FASE
Purvi Parwani, MD
Philippe Pibarot, DVM, PhD, FASE
Jordan Strom, MD, MSc, FASE
Gillian Whalley, PhD, DMU, FASE
Arissa Cooper – Staff Liaison