Scientific Sessions Program Committee


  • Required to be part of the program and on site during the annual conference.
  • Review evaluations from previous Scientific Sessions to enhance future Scientific Sessions offerings.
  • Coordinate and develop annual meeting content and networking events.
  • Identify and assign faculty
  • Work with International Alliance Partners for international faculty assignments. International faculty should be a % in alignment with the Society’s strategic goals
  • Participate in the abstract selection process
  • Develop criteria and selections for abstracts and case submissions.
  • Select research abstracts to be promoted at Scientific Sessions.
  • Assist with abstract promotional activities including attracting media outlets to cover the Scientific Sessions.
  • Responsible for the financial oversight and performance of the annual meeting.
  • Explore strategic alliances and collaboration with other medical organizations to create more resources at the annual meeting for ASE members (special symposia, joint education, etc.).
  • Responsible for assisting with marketing of Scientific Sessions (presenting slide sets, etc.).
  • Promote activities revolving around the annual meeting, including community events and social events.
  • Responsible for promoting the scientific sessions (with slide sets, etc.) to other healthcare professionals and potential funders.

The Chair of the Scientific Sessions Program Committee may not have any paid relationships with industry or others during their term of service.

2023 – 2024 Committee Members:
Federico Asch, MD, FASE – Chair
Eric Kruse, BS, ACS, RDCS, RVT, FASE – Co-Chair

Carol Mitchell, PhD, RDMS, RDCS, RVT, RT(R), ACS, FASE – Abstract Chair
Dermot Phelan, MD, PhD, FASE – Incoming Co-Chair
Leo Lopez, MD, FASE – Abstract Co-Chair
James Kirkpatrick, MD, FASE – Past Chair
Benjamin Eidem, MD, FASE – President
Theodore Abraham, MD, FASE – President-Elect
Sangeeta Shah, MD, FASE – ACHD Rep
Triston Thompson, BS, ACS, RCS, RDCS, RVT, FASE – Learning Lab
Madeline Jankowski, BS, RDCS, ACS, FASE – Learning Lab
Bhaskar Arora, MD, FASE – Local Liaison
Elizabeth Le, MD, FASE – Local Liaison
Nova Panebianco, MD, MPH – CCE Track Chair
Michael Lanspa, MD, FASE – CCE Track Co-Chair
Anitha Parthiban, MD, FASE – PCHD Track Chair
Adam Dorfman, MD, FASE – PCHD Track Co-Chair
Richard Sheu, MD, FASE – COPE Track Chair
Kiran Belani, MD, FASE – COPE Track Co-Chair
Rebecca LeLeiko, MD – CAVUS Track Chair
Aaron Aday, MD, MSc, RPVI – CAVUS Track Co-Chair
Rebecca Hahn,  MD, FASE – IE Track Chair
Matthew Parker, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Benjamin Freed, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Danita Sanborn, MD, MMSc, FASE – Member at Large
William Katz,  MD, FASE – Member at Large
Lucy Safi, DO, FASE – Member at Large
Mohammed Chamsi-Pasha, MD, FACC, FASE – Member at Large
Ashlee Davis, BSMI, ACS, RDCS, FASE – Member at Large
Ritu Thamman, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Melissa Wasserman, RDCS, RCCS, FASE – Member at Large
Susan Mayer, MD, FASE – Member at Large
Christina Caruso-LaFuria – Staff Liaison